Working up on Dorrie


For some time now, I started working up on Dorrie. Dorrie is a web application which enables users to build a Fedora/Spin.It is a Free Software licensed under the GNU Affero General Public License v3 or later and written using Django/Python.

After successfully downloading and deploying Dorrie from GitHub, I found out that it was showing an error “invalid arguments to setopt” in the /basic/ page. So after googling for few minutes I came to know the error was arising because setopt was receving uni-code as the argument in place of string So, after the modification of the code, I sent the patch upstream. Later, Shrink, rtnpro and I were discussing on Dorrie so rtnpro came up with the idea of making the code modular and dividing the codes in files based on type of settings. He also told of introducing django-addons into Dorrie as it adding a true plug-n-play functionality to our own Django applications and he assigned me the job. Since, it had been quite sometime I had worked on Git, I had forgotten some of the commands so I had to google the commands again and write out the patch. I sent out the patch upstream the following day. Here is my Dorrie clone on GitHub.

Leave a Reply

