Happy Birthday dgplug!!


Today, it’s 8th September 2012 and eight years back on 8th September 2004, dgplug(Durgapur Linux User’s Group) was formed with the formation of the dgplug mailing list.

I was first acquainted with this group during a python session taken by Kushal Das. He enlightened us with the various prospects and channelized us on how to contribute, implement and share our knowledge in open source software. Kd da(as we always call kushal) taught me right from the grass root level the very basics of contribution towards open source softwares. dgplug also gave me my favourite mentors kishan and rtnpro who guided me through the various technologies in this field which made me capable to contribute to various open source projects. Though, kishan was always helped me through peaceful ways. But, rtnpro sometimes took the road to violence and gave some nice kicks and punches through IRC. With their help I was able to do my first ever upstream contribution to rtnpro’s project “wordgroupz“.

Moving ahead with my journey with dgplug, I started inspiring out students in my college and shared my knowledge with my fellow mates, juniors and seniors so that the telos of dgplug is achieved and the group becomes larger, stronger and sharper day by day because “Sky is the Limit”.

Since I have joined dgplug, 3 springs have passed and I am a strong believer that being attached to this group will surely help me achieve greater heights in my career. I am really thankful to all who helped me anywhere during this very journey of mine. Lastly, I would love to thank anurag to helped me expressing my feeling towards dgplug through words. 🙂

1 comment
  1. Reece said:

    This is very interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.

    I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your wonderful post. Also, I have shared your website in my social networks!

Leave a Reply

